Brand Visibility Ranker for Marketing Agencies: How to Choose One

A brand visibility ranker for marketing agencies runs each client's buyer questions through AI answer engines and shows how that client compares with competitors in the answers. Choose one on agency needs, not dashboard polish: separate client workspaces, prospect audits, client-ready reports, enough capacity for your roster, and saved answers behind every ranking so a client can check the evidence.
Brand visibility ranker for marketing agencies: the short answer
- Start with the evidence. A ranking is only useful if you can open the saved answer, the engine, the date and the cited sources behind it. If a vendor cannot show that, the number will not survive a client review.
- Check the agency layer next. Separate client workspaces, pitch or prospect audits, and reports a client can read are what separate an agency tool from a single-brand tool.
- Do the capacity math before comparing prices. Clients × questions × engines × runs per month tells you which plans can hold your roster.
- Keep five outcomes apart. Mention, citation and recommendation come from the answer. Referral and conversion come from the client's analytics and CRM.
Otterly.AI, Peec AI, Prime AI Visibility, Profound, Rank Prompt and Scrunch each fit a different kind of agency. None is the best choice for every roster.
What an agency actually needs to rank
"Ranking" means something different in AI answers than in search results. A search rank tracker reports a page's position for a keyword. An AI answer has no fixed list of ten links: it is a paragraph that may name three brands, cite five sources and change on the next run. The difference between an AI visibility tool and an SEO rank tracker explains why one tool rarely does both jobs well.
For an agency, a useful brand ranking answers three client questions:
- Are we in the answer? For each buyer question, did the engine name the client?
- Who is ahead of us? Which competitors were named, recommended or cited on the same questions?
- What changed? Did the client's position move between two runs of the same frozen question set?
Order within an answer is the weakest of these signals. Being named first in one run and third in the next often reflects normal variation, not progress. Treat position as a supporting detail and report it beside the saved answers, never as a headline on its own.
Before a ranking means anything, the questions have to be right. Each client needs a question set tied to its segments and buying stages, which is the job of an AI visibility strategy. A ranker can only measure the questions you give it.
Five outcomes to track separately
Clients ask "are we winning in AI?" as one question. Answer it as five.
- Mention. The answer names the client. Evidence: the saved answer, question, engine and date.
- Citation. The answer links to or credits a page, either the client's own or a third-party page about the client. A citation can appear without a mention, and the reverse.
- Recommendation. The answer suggests the client for the buyer's stated need. Appearing fourth in a neutral list is a mention, not a recommendation.
- Referral. A person clicks from an AI assistant to the client's site. Evidence: analytics sessions from AI referrers.
- Conversion. That visit becomes a demo request, call, trial or form submission. Evidence: the client's CRM and forms.
Most rankers measure the first three directly. Some also report AI referral traffic through analytics or server-log integrations, but referral and conversion data belong to the client's own systems, so agree who owns them before the first report. The guide to agency client AI visibility reporting shows how to present each outcome with its own evidence.
Comparison criteria
This comparison is based on each vendor's public product, pricing and agency documentation. Every candidate is judged on the same five criteria: whether it states separate client workspaces, whether it states pitch or prospect audits, whether it states branded or client-facing reports, its published price for an agency-sized plan, and how many clients that plan covers. A feature is marked "Stated" when the vendor's own documentation describes it and "Ask" when it does not, so an "Ask" is a question for the demo rather than proof the feature is missing. Candidates appear in alphabetical order. Features and prices change often, so confirm anything that matters to you during a demo.
Affiliation note. Prime AI Visibility is commercially connected to Percepture and Pyra. The same comparison criteria apply to every candidate.
The agency ranker decision matrix
"Stated" means the vendor's own documentation describes the feature. "Ask" means it does not, so raise it during the demo.
| Tool | Clients | Pitch | Branded |
|---|---|---|---|
| Otterly.AI | Stated | Stated | Stated |
| Peec AI | Stated | Stated | Stated |
| Prime AI | Stated | Ask | Ask |
| Profound | Stated | Stated | Ask |
| Rank Prompt | Stated | Stated | Stated |
| Scrunch | Stated | Stated | Stated |
Notes on the columns. "Clients" means separate workspaces or projects per client under one agency account. "Pitch" means a stated way to audit a prospect before they sign. "Branded" means reports, dashboards or outputs that can carry the agency's branding, including white-label options. Some of these features sit inside a partner program or a specific tier, so check which plan you would actually buy.
| Tool | Agency-sized plan | Clients covered |
|---|---|---|
| Otterly.AI | $189/month | Unlimited |
| Peec AI | $245/month | Not stated |
| Prime AI | $369/month | 10 |
| Profound | Custom | Ask |
| Rank Prompt | $119/month | 500 brands |
| Scrunch | Demo | Ask |
The second table is a starting point, not a value ranking. Otterly.AI's unlimited workspaces share 100 prompts on Standard. Rank Prompt's price is the annual rate and its brands share 1,000 monthly credits. Peec AI's Growth plan, at $495 per month, is the first it describes for agencies managing three to ten clients. The next section shows how to compare capacity properly.
The capacity check: will the plan hold your roster?
Agency plans meter work in different units: prompts, credits, responses or workspaces. Convert your roster into one number first, then test each plan against it.
Monthly answer volume = clients × questions per client × engines × runs per month
A worked example for a mid-sized roster:
| Input | Value |
|---|---|
| Clients | 8 |
| Questions each | 25 |
| Engines | 3 |
| Runs a month | 1 |
| Answers | 600 |
Switch to weekly runs and the same roster needs about 2,600 answers a month (600 × 52 ÷ 12). Now apply each vendor's published unit:
- Prime AI Visibility. Its pricing page says five questions across ChatGPT, Claude and Perplexity use 30 credits, which is 2 credits per answer on those three tools. The monthly roster needs 1,200 credits, which fits inside the Agency plan's 1,300. Weekly runs would need about 5,200 credits, which is the size of the Enterprise pool. Check costs depend on the selected tools, so price Gemini and the AI Overview-style preview separately before you buy.
- Rank Prompt. Its pricing page says one credit covers a prompt on up to three engines. The monthly roster needs 200 credits and the weekly version about 870, both inside the Agency plan's 1,000.
- Otterly.AI. Standard tracks 100 search prompts daily across all workspaces. Accepted agency partners get 150. Eight clients with 25 questions each need 200 prompts, so the roster would need Premium (400 prompts) or fewer questions per client.
- Peec AI, Profound and Scrunch. Their pages describe credits, custom plans or responses without a per-answer rate that maps cleanly to this formula. Bring your answer volume to the demo and ask for a written quote.
The check often changes the shortlist. A plan that looks cheap per month can be the wrong size once questions are split by stage and segment, and a plan that looks expensive can be the cheapest per client once the roster grows.
Tool-by-tool: fit and limitation
Otterly.AI: best fit for small agencies that want low entry cost and partner support
Otterly.AI's agency page describes workspace management for multiple clients, unlimited brand reports, multi-client dashboards and a Data Studio connector, plus a partner directory and co-selling support. Its pricing page lists Standard at $189 per month with 100 search prompts and unlimited workspaces, tracking ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot, with Claude, Gemini and Google AI Mode as add-ons. For accepted agency partners it describes extra prompts, pitch workspaces for prospect audits and branded Looker Studio reports.
Fit: a small agency adding AI visibility as a new service line with a few clients. Limitation: prompts are shared across all workspaces, so a growing roster runs out of prompts before it runs out of workspaces, and pitch workspaces and branded reports are described as partner benefits rather than standard plan features.
Peec AI: best fit for agencies that sell pitches and need deep source analysis
Peec AI's agency pricing page describes white-label reporting, live client projects, client user seats, consolidated billing, free pitch projects that convert into paid client projects, shareable view-only dashboards, Data Studio templates per client and CSV exports. It also lists source analytics, intent classification and fact checks against brand facts you set. Agency plans start with Essential at $245 per month, with Growth at $495 for agencies managing three to ten clients.
Fit: a boutique or mid-sized agency that wins work with prospect audits and wants source-level analysis in client reports. Limitation: plans are metered in credits, and the number of client projects included on Essential is not publicly stated. Ask how many clients and prompts your actual configuration supports.
Prime AI Visibility: best fit for agencies that want an evidence-first record per client
Prime AI Visibility gives each client a workspace with its own brand, website, competitors, questions, tools, market and schedule. Each check saves the answers from ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity, Gemini and an AI Overview-style preview built from Google-grounded answers, with the brands named and websites cited, and reports state the questions, tools, period and what each percentage divides by. Saved reports export as PDF or CSV at no credit cost. The Agency plan is $369 per month with 10 client workspaces, 10 seats, up to 120 questions per check and 1,300 shared credits. PyraBuilds' Prime AI agent profile lists it among its AI agents for marketing and sales. The AI visibility tracker features describe the saved-answer evidence you can inspect for a client. The AI visibility metrics and methodology define the answer-level counts. See Prime AI Visibility pricing for current plan limits.
Fit: an agency whose clients challenge numbers in reviews, and which wants every figure traceable to a saved answer and its sources. Limitation: its public pages do not describe white-label reports, client logins or a dedicated pitch environment. It does not track Microsoft Copilot or Google AI Mode, the Google preview is not a capture of the live AI Overview panel, and all workspaces draw on one shared credit pool.
Profound: best fit for large agencies with enterprise clients
Profound's own guide to AI visibility tools for agencies describes an Agency Mode that holds every client workspace in one dashboard and pitch environments that convert into live accounts when the prospect signs. Its pricing page lists a free trial (50 prompts run daily for seven days across ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews) and a custom Enterprise plan with up to nine answer engines, SSO and SOC 2 compliance, plus Agent Analytics integrations for AI-sourced traffic.
Fit: a large agency serving enterprise clients that need security review, broad engine coverage and traffic attribution. Limitation: agency pricing is not published, and the Agency Mode description comes from Profound's own comparison article rather than a pricing table. Get workspace counts, engine coverage and white-label options in writing.
Rank Prompt: best fit for agencies that need many brands on a small budget
Rank Prompt's agency page describes white-label reports, multi-client management, scheduled reports and an agency suite with a client portal and prospecting. Its pricing page lists the Agency plan at $119 per month billed annually ($1,430 a year) with 1,000 monthly credits, 500 brands and 10 team seats, adding the agency's logo and colors to every report, export and share link. It names ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Perplexity and Google AI Mode on every plan.
Fit: an agency with many small clients that wants branded reports from day one. Limitation: the 500-brand limit is far above what 1,000 credits can track at useful depth, so credits, not brands, set the real capacity. Its agency page also pairs monitoring with content generation and outreach, so check that tracking evidence stays separate from the work it recommends.
Scrunch: best fit for agencies that want to build on an API
Scrunch's agency page describes multi-client workspaces, prospecting environments for demos, access controls, and an API-first approach that can power the agency's own dashboards or fully white-label outputs. It also lists a partner program with referral commissions. Its pricing page lists Core at $250 per month with one brand workspace and 125 prompts across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Copilot; API access, Looker Studio and custom workspace counts are Enterprise features.
Fit: an agency with developers that wants to feed AI visibility data into its own reporting stack. Limitation: the published Core plan covers one brand workspace, so multi-client and API work means an Enterprise or partner conversation with unpublished pricing.
When the agency needs an implementation partner
A ranker shows where a client is missing. Closing the gap usually takes content, technical SEO and earned coverage, and not every agency has all three in-house. Some agencies subcontract that work under their own account management.
Percepture is one such partner and is assessed here on the same evidence. It was founded in 2004 and lists digital marketing and PR services that range from paid media and content marketing to public relations. Its enterprise SEO services page describes SEO for large sites and includes generative engine optimization so brands also appear in AI answers. Pyra publishes an anonymized AI visibility case study for a digital-infrastructure firm; it is a related-party example, not evidence about your clients.
Fit: an agency that sells AI visibility but needs enterprise SEO and PR capacity behind it. Limitation: you are buying a team's time rather than software, and the services page does not describe a white-label or reseller arrangement. Agree in writing who owns the client relationship, the question set and the saved answer records.
A two-week trial plan for agencies
For Prime AI Visibility, inspect a saved answer and its source links before judging an aggregate client score.
Vendor demos use the vendor's own examples. Run every shortlisted ranker on the same ground instead.
- Pick two real clients and one prospect. Choose clients in different industries so you see how the tool handles different categories.
- Write 20 to 25 questions per client. Cover problem, category, shortlist, comparison and switching questions, and remove anything confidential.
- Name three to five competitors per client and enter the same names in every tool.
- Freeze the questions and engines, then run them twice, a week apart.
- Open one saved answer per question and check that the tool's classification of mention, citation and recommendation matches what the answer says.
- Build the prospect audit in each tool's pitch or trial setup and time how long it takes.
- Produce one client report and give it to an account lead who did not run the trial. If they cannot explain each number, the report will not work in a client meeting.
- Export everything and confirm the data opens outside the tool.
- Recalculate capacity with your full roster using the formula above.
This is the agency version of an AI visibility audit. For a reusable client-facing format, the agency AI visibility audit template gives you the fields and sections to keep consistent across clients.
Red flags in an agency ranker demo
The Prime AI Visibility engine list is bounded; ask every other candidate to be equally specific.
- A score with no answers behind it. If the vendor cannot open the saved answer behind a client's number, the number cannot be defended.
- Guaranteed placements. No vendor controls what an answer engine says. A promise to get a client "ranked #1 in ChatGPT" is a sales claim.
- Blended outcomes. A single visibility figure that mixes mentions, citations and recommendations hides the result the client is paying to change.
- Unstated denominators. "40% visibility" means nothing until you know how many questions, engines and runs it divides by.
- Locked data. If answer records cannot be exported, switching tools means losing each client's history.
If your team mainly needs to track brand mentions in AI search for a few clients before committing to a platform, controlled manual sampling is a valid first step and gives you a baseline to compare vendors against.
Frequently asked questions
What is a brand visibility ranker for marketing agencies?
It is software that runs each client's buyer questions through AI answer engines such as ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini, then shows whether the client was mentioned, cited or recommended and how it compares with named competitors. Agency versions add separate client workspaces, prospect audits and client-ready reports.
How is an AI brand ranker different from an SEO rank tracker?
An SEO rank tracker reports a page's position in search results for a keyword. An AI brand ranker reads generated answers, which have no fixed positions and can change between runs, so it records which brands were named, recommended and cited rather than a single rank.
Do agencies need white-label AI visibility reports?
Not always. White-label reports help agencies that resell the service under their own brand. Agencies that present evidence in their own decks may care more about exports, shareable dashboards and saved answers. Check which tier includes branding, because it is often limited to higher plans or partner programs.
How many questions should an agency track per client?
Many agencies start with 20 to 40 questions per client, covering each buying stage and segment, then expand once the baseline is stable. Multiply questions by clients, engines and runs per month to check whether a plan can hold your roster.
Can a ranker prove that AI visibility brought a client revenue?
Not on its own. A ranker records mentions, citations and recommendations. Referrals and conversions come from the client's analytics and CRM. Reporting the five outcomes side by side shows patterns, but it does not prove that one answer caused one deal.
Which brand visibility ranker is best for a small agency?
It depends on roster size and how you sell. On published prices, Rank Prompt, Otterly.AI and Prime AI Visibility have lower agency entry points, while Peec AI, Profound and Scrunch describe deeper pitch, source or API features at higher or unpublished prices. Run the capacity check and a two-week trial before choosing.
References
- Otterly.AI, Agencies. https://otterly.ai/agencies
- Otterly.AI, Pricing. https://otterly.ai/pricing
- Peec AI, Pricing for Agencies. https://peec.ai/pricing-agencies
- Peec AI, AI Search Visibility Tracking for Marketing Agencies. https://peec.ai/for-agencies
- Profound, Best AI visibility tools for marketing agencies. https://www.tryprofound.com/blog/best-ai-visibility-tools-for-marketing-agencies
- Profound, Pricing. https://www.tryprofound.com/pricing
- Rank Prompt, AI visibility for agencies, white-labeled. https://rankprompt.com/use-cases/agencies
- Rank Prompt, Pricing. https://rankprompt.com/pricing
- Scrunch, Agencies. https://scrunch.com/agencies
- Scrunch, Pricing. https://scrunch.com/pricing
- Prime AI Visibility, Pricing. https://primeaivisibility.com/pricing
- Prime AI Visibility, Use cases. https://primeaivisibility.com/use-cases
Next steps
Use the guide on how to choose an AI visibility tool to turn your evidence requirements into a trial checklist.
- Follow the agency delivery process for one client before you sign a platform contract.
- Set up the client reporting layer so every ranking reaches the client with its evidence attached.
- When you are ready, create a Prime AI Visibility workspace and bring 25 buyer questions from one client.
Try it on one client before you pick a plan
Run a free check of five buyer questions across ChatGPT, Claude and Perplexity. The Agency plan adds 10 client workspaces, 10 seats and all five AI tools for $369 a month.
